The Stewards of Intangible Cultural Heritage Award

The Stewards of Intangible Cultural Heritage Award

The Stewards of Intangible Cultural Heritage Award aims to recognise practitioners (individual and groups) of intangible cultural heritage (ICH) who are dedicated to the promotion and transmission of their practices, and have made outstanding contributions in their field.

This award conferred by the National Heritage Board (NHB) is one of the key recommendations for the safeguarding of ICH, as part of Our SG Heritage Plan, the masterplan for the heritage and museum sector for 2018 to 2022.

ICH elements practised by the nominated practitioners need to be part of NHB's ICH Inventory, which consists of six categories:

  • *Social Practices, Rituals and Festival Events
  • Knowledge and Practices concerning Nature and Universe
  • Oral Traditions and Expressions
  • Performing Arts
  • Traditional Craftsmanship
  • Food Heritage
  • *The scheme excludes practices that are overtly religious or spreads the teachings or beliefs of any one religion


    Each recipient (individual or organisation) will be presented with a plaque/trophy, certificate of award, and S$5,000 cash prize.

    Each recipient will also have the option to tap up to S$20,000 in project funding. This is subject to the approval of the proposed project. Please click here to find out more.

    Award Categories & Eligibility

      i. Singapore Citizens or Permanent Residents, 18 years and above. ii. Must be a practitioner with minimum 10 years in vocation and a respected member of the practising community.
      i. Must be based in Singapore and headed by a Singapore Citizen or Permanent Resident ii. The group must have been practising for a minimum of 10 years. iii. The group must be a formally registered society or company.

    Note: Awards will not be conferred posthumously.

    Nomination Methods

    Self-nomination and public nomination

    Evaluation Criteria

    Nominees are evaluated according to how they have demonstrated the following criteria:

     Active Transmission of Skills and Knowledge
    • Displays outstanding efforts to transmit skills and knowledge to the next generation
    • Regular engagement with the wider community to raise awareness of the practice
     Mastery of Skills and Practice
    • Displays excellence in the application of both knowledge and skills
     Long-Term Dedication to the Practice
    • Long-term commitment to sustaining knowledge and skills of the practice.
     Positive Impact and Influence
    • Serves as a positive example by encouraging cultural exchange
    • Displays efforts to serve the wider community through the practice


    Individual and group applications will be evaluated separately as distinct categories of applicants, although all applications will be assessed based on the above criteria.

    Evaluation Panel

    Applications will be reviewed and assessed by an Evaluation Panel, which comprises ICH practitioners, academics, head of community organisations, and representatives from NHB. For the 2021 Award cycle, the members of the Evaluation Panel are:

    Chair Ms Yeoh Chee Yan
    Chairman, National Heritage Board 
    Deputy Chair Ms Chang Hwee Nee
    CE, National Heritage Board 
    Members  Dr Alexius A. Pereira
    Chairman, Eurasian Association
      Ms Elaine Ng
    Senior Director, Sector Development Group - Performing Arts, NAC 
      Mr Low Sze Wee
    CEO, Singapore Chinese Cultural Centre 
      Dr Norshahril Saat
    Chairman, Malay Heritage Foundation 
      Dr Rahil Ismail
    Independent Researcher 
      Mr Rajakumar Chandra
    Chairman, Little India Shopkeepers and Heritage Association (LISHA)
      Dr Rizwana Begum
    Exco Member, Singapore Heritage Society
      Mrs Santha Bhaskar
    Artistic Director, Bhaskar's Arts Academy
      Ms Sunitha Janamohanan
    Lecturer, LASALLE College of the Arts
      Prof Vineeta Sinha
    Department of Sociology and South Asian Studies Programme, NUS

    Contact OR 6332 3544.