Opening Remarks

Chang Hwee Nee

CEO, National Heritage Board and ICOM Singapore Chairperson

Keynote Address

Kennie Ting

Group Director (Museums), NHB and Director, Asian Civilisations Museum

Topic: Overview of the Museum Landscape in Singapore & ASEMUS General Conference (working title)

Jette Sandahl

Chair, ICOM Standing Committee for MDPP

Topic: Introduction to ICOM Standing Committee on Museum Definition, Prospects and Potentials (MDPP)

Panel Discussions

[3 Tracks]


Track 1: The Definition of Museums – Past, Present and Future


  1. François Mairesse

    Professor, Sorbonne Nouvelle-Paris 3 University

  2. Alec Coles
    CEO of Western Australian Museum and President of ICOM Australia

  3. Honor Harger
    Executive Director, ArtScience Museum

Moderated by:
Angelita Teo
Director, National Museum of Singapore

Track 2: Trends in Museum Ownership, Sustainability, Partnerships and Governance


  1. David Fleming
    Professor of Public History, Liverpool Hope University

  2. Margaret Anderson
    Director, Old Treasury Building, Melbourne, Australia

  3. Kenson Kwok
    Founding Director, Asian Civilisations Museum and The Peranakan Museum

  4. Haga Mitsuru
    Professor, Doctor of Literature, Tohoku University, Institute for Excellence in Higher Education

Moderated by:
Ahmad Mashadi
Head, National University of Singapore Museum

Track 3: Challenges for Museums of the Future


  1. Richard West

    President and CEO, Autry Museum of the American West

  2. George Abungu

    Heritage Consultant, former Director-General, National Museums of Kenya

  3. Chong Siak Ching
    CEO, National Gallery Singapore

Moderated by:
Trudy Loh
Director, Heritage Institutions
National Heritage Board

Introduction to ICOM and ICOM Kyoto General Conference

Introduction to ICOM

Alberto Garlandini
Vice-President, ICOM

Afsin Altayli
Museum and Society Coordinator, ICOM General Secretariat

All about ICOM Kyoto General Conference 2019

Haga Mitsuru

Professor, Doctor of Literature, Tohoku University, Institute for Excellence in Higher Education; and

Jenny Chiu
Researcher, ICOM Kyoto 2019 Office